This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Careers | Join | About | Print Page | Report Abuse | Sign In
About SCCT

Our Mission

To improve health outcomes through effective use of cardiovascular CT.

View More

Our Purpose

SCCT is the international professional society devoted exclusively to cardiovascular CT, with members from over 85 countries. SCCT is a community of physicians, scientists and technologists advocating for research, education and clinical excellence in the use of cardiovascular CT.


On March 7, 2005, SCCT was launched through a merger of two former societies: The Society of Cardiac CT and the Society of Cardiovascular CT. These former societies had spontaneously formed earlier in 2005 and soon realized they shared common goals and could be more effective as one association. The goal of the new SCCT was to be the principal, global, independent organization committed to the further development of cardiac computed tomography through education, training, quality assurance and research. Its initial 200 members were the physicians, scientists and technologists who worked in the field of CCT.


The new society soon established its Board of Directors, initial guidelines, annual meeting structure, education offerings and advocacy plans. Since its inception, SCCT has increased its membership to over 4,100 worldwide. 

SCCT Board of Directors Members 2019-2020

Immediate Past President

Executive Committee members are full voting members of the Board of Directors.

*All terms are July to July.




(President 2018 - 2019, ex officio director 2020 – 2025)
(President 2017 - 2018, ex officio director 2019 – 2024)
(President 2016 - 2017, ex officio director 2018 – 2023)
(President 2015 - 2016, ex officio director 2017 – 2022)
(President 2014 - 2015; ex officio director 2016 – 2021)

Past Presidents

Ron Blankstein, MD, MSCCT
(2019 - 2020)
Boston, MA
Suhny Abbara, MD,
(2018 - 2019)
Dallas, TX
Todd C. Villines, MD, MSCCT
(2017 - 2018)
Charlottesville, VA
Leslee J. Shaw, PhD, MSCCT
(2016 - 2017)
New York, NY
Jonathon Leipsic MD, MSCCT
Vancouver, Canada
Ricardo C. Cury, MD, MSCCT
(2014 - 2015)
Miami, FL
J. Jeffrey Carr, MD,
(2013 - 2014)
Nashville, TN
John R. Lesser, MD,
(2012 - 2013)
Minneapolis, MN
James K. Min, MD,
(2011 - 2012)
New York, NY
Matthew J. Budoff, MD, MSCCT
(2010 - 2011)
Torrance, CA
Jack A. Ziffer, PhD, MD, MSCCT
(2009 - 2010)
Miami, FL
Daniel S. Berman, MD, MSCCT
(2008 - 2009)
Los Angeles, CA
Michael Poon, MD,
(2007 - 2008)
Stony Brook, NY
Stephan Achenbach, MD, MSCCT
(2005 - 2007)
Erlangen, Germany


ASM 2021 Program

Learn More


Learn More

Corporate Relations

Learn More


Learn More


Learn More


Learn More


Learn More


Learn More


Learn More


Joanne Olson

Melissa Fairbank
Meetings Manager

Karen Frame
Education and Finance Coordinator

Audrey L. Gentry
Marketing and Communications Manager

Claire Johns
Director, Membership, Marketing and Communications
Jason Lee
Membership and Administrative Coordinator
Miles Mulligan
Online Education Specialist

Kristin Stierle
Director, Meetings and Programs

Make a Donation

Donate today to help save lives

Heart disease is our nation’s No. 1 cause of death. Your tax-deductible gift saves lives through funding training for CCT practitioners and advocacy for coverage of CCT in your community. Please give now.


Give today to improve insurance coverage

Despite growing research showing that CCT is an exceptional diagnostic tool in the first against heart disease, CCT is not given the same amount of insurance coverage as other imaging modalities. Help us change that.