This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Careers | Join | About | Print Page | Report Abuse | Sign In
SCCT Recognition Awards
Share |
Gold Medal Award

Inaugurated for SCCT's 10th anniversary year in 2015, the Gold Medal is the highest honor bestowed by SCCT. It recognizes outstanding leaders who have made landmark contributions to the field of cardiovascular CT and to the Society. The award recognizes SCCT members who best exemplify leadership and a lifetime commitment to clinical excellence, research and education.


2019:  Jonathon Leipsic and Gilbert Raff


 Jonathon Leipsic, MD, FRCPC, FSCCT

Dr. Leipsic is the Chairman of the Department of Radiology for Providence Health Care, Vancouver Coastal Health and the Vice Chairman of Research for the UBC Department of Radiology.  He is a Professor of Radiology and Cardiology with the University of British Columbia.  Dr. Leipsic is also a Canada Research Chair in Advanced Cardiopulmonary Imaging. Dr. Leipsic has over 480 peer reviewed manuscripts in press or in print, over 300 scientific abstracts, and editor of 2 textbooks. He speaks internationally on a number of cardiopulmonary imaging topics with over 150 invited lectures in the last 4 years. He is also past President of the Society of Cardiovascular CT (2015-2016).


Gilbert Raff, MD, FSCCT
Director of advanced cardiovascular imaging, Beaumont Health
Florine and J. Peter Ministrelli endowed chair for cardiovascular research

Gilbert Raff, MD has been practicing medicine for over 40 years. He is the founding program manager of the Advanced Cardiovascular Imaging Consortium of Michigan and principal investigator at CT-STAT and CT-DOSE. He has had 133  peer-reviewed manuscripts published. Dr. Raff is a founding Board member for the Society of Cardiovascular Computed Tomography. His major research interests include Radiation Dose Reduction in Cardiac Computed Tomography, as well as, the Use of Coronary Computed Tomography Angiography and CT-Derived Fractional Flow Reserve in the Diagnosis of Acute Chest Pain.


Previous Gold Medal recipients

2018: Leslee Shaw and Udo Hoffman

2017: James Min

2016: Matthew Budoff

2015: Daniel Berman and Stephan Achenbach



Arthur S. Agatston Cardiovascular Disease Prevention Award

Dr. Arthur Agatston, the award’s namesake, is a visionary and pioneer in the field of noninvasive cardiac imaging and one of the world’s leading preventive cardiologists. This award promotes the prevention of death from heart disease by recognizing individuals whose pioneering efforts have saved lives from the leading killer throughout the world, coronary artery disease.


2019: Roger Blumenthal, MD

  Roger Blumenthal, MD
Director Ciccarone Center for the Prevention of Cardiovascular Disease | Professor of Medicine at John Hopkins Medicine

Dr. Blumenthal is recognized for his contributions to the optimal management of ischemic heart disease, noninvasive detection of coronary atherosclerosis and the development of new strategies to optimize the management of CVD risk factors.  

Previous recipients

2018: Peter Libby, MD

2017: Peter Wilson, MD

2016: Jagat Narula, MD

2015:  Arthur Agatston, MD; Bruce Brundage, MD; Matt Budoff, MD, FSCCT; Tracy Q. Callister, MD, FSCCT; Warren Robert Janowitz, MD; Raolo Raggi, MD, FSCCT; John Rumberger, PhD, MD, FSCCT; Harvey Hecht, MD

2014: Prediman K. Shah, MD

2013: Valentin Fuster, MD, PhD 

2012: Sanjay Gupta

2011: Scott Grundy, MD

2010: William Castelli, MD

Achenbach Pioneer Award in Cardiovascular CT

Named in honor of SCCT founding member and first president, Dr. Stephan Achenbach, this award honors those who have made landmark contributions by demonstrating a commitment to clinical excellence, research and education to the field of cardiovascular CT.

2019: Stephan Achenbach


Stephan Achenbach, MD, MSCCT

Chairman of Cardiology and a Professor of Medicine at the University of Erlangen, Germany.


His research interests focus on cardiovascular imaging, mainly computed tomography, for the early detection and characterization of coronary atherosclerosis and for the support of coronary and cardiovascular interventional procedures.